Our eight churches

The Octagon Parish is situated at the western end of Sussex between Chichester and Petersfield and within the South Downs National Park. This rural community consists largely of farmland and is made up of the villages and hamlets of Compton, Forestside, Up Marden, West Marden, North Marden, East Marden, Racton, Stansted, Stoughton and Walderton.

The Octagon contains eight uniquely beautiful churches, many of them several hundred years old, seven of which are still open for public worship.

Click the pictures below for more information.

For information on hymns and church services please click here

    • Forestside 2

    Christchurch, Forestside

    • Compton Churchyard1

    St Mary, Compton

    • North Marden 2

    St Mary, North Marden

    • Stoughton church sunshine

    St Mary, Stoughton

    • Up Marden interior 1

    St Michael, Up Marden

    • Stansted

    St Paul’s Chapel, Stansted

    • East Marden sunshine

    St Peter, East Marden

    • Racton interior

    St Peter, Racton